#BEEready: What are BEE Levels

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
  • BEE Levels are recognition levels, that indicate to what degree you comply with BEE legislation.
  • Now, there are 8 BEE Levels for compliance – with Level 1 being the best compliance. If you score lower than what qualifies for a Level 8, you are non-compliant.
  • Across an entire BEE Scorecard, you can score 100+ points across the 5 elements. This score determines your percentage of compliance.
  • The different scorecard scores, and the corresponding level you’ll get, looks as follows:
  • Level 1 – 100 points and above
  • Level 2 – 95 to 99.99 points
  • Level 3 – 90 to 94.99 points
  • Level 4 – 80 to 89.99 points
  • Up to level 4 you are considered fully BEE Compliant and most tendering processes will require a BEE level 1-4.
  • Level 5 – 75 to 79.99
  • Level 6 – 70 to 74.99
  • Level 7 – 55 to 69.99
  • Level 8 – 40 to 54.99
  • If you score below 40 points, you are non-compliant.
  • This is what BEE Levels are, and why they matter is because the economic system with the BEE legislation will at times require specific levels from you in order to participate in certain processes, like tendering processes. Your BEE level, as you’ll know from our previous videos, also affect your clients’ BEE levels and they will want to do more business with you or increase their spend with you if you can benefit their BEE compliance.

Is your business COVID-ready?

Our COVID-19 Safety Files makes it easy - over 100 pages of every policy and template you need